Problem with setupExamples in Visual Prolog 7.2

Discussions related to Visual Prolog
Elena Efimova
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: 1 Sep 2006 13:02

Problem with setupExamples in Visual Prolog 7.2

Unread post by Elena Efimova » 12 Nov 2008 17:41

Hello,

Error 1316. A network error occured while attempting to read from the file .....\Visual Prolog 7.2 PE\bin\WISA11AO.........MSI. :?

Alexander Doronin
Posts: 7
Joined: 8 Dec 2006 12:59

Unread post by Alexander Doronin » 13 Nov 2008 10:11

Hello Elena,

You need first run SetupExamples from the VIP-ALC'08 version and uninstall the examples. And then you can install Visual Prolog 7.2 examples from the latest version.

Regards Alexander

Elena Efimova
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: 1 Sep 2006 13:02

Unread post by Elena Efimova » 13 Nov 2008 10:44

Hi, Alexander

I have uninstalled the VIP-ALC'08 version and then I have removed the examples from it, but the error is the same. And after that there is the dialog Fatal Error.

Elena Efimova
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: 1 Sep 2006 13:02

Unread post by Elena Efimova » 17 Mar 2009 6:09

Hello,

the same problem exists in build 7202.

Artem Lyakhov
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Oct 2000 23:01

Unread post by Artem Lyakhov » 17 Mar 2009 8:41

Hello Elena,

We saw similar problems on some machines but unfortunately it's unclear how to handle them. It has something to do with invalid cashed msi data from the previous setups. We will probably have to recreate the setup from scratch. We'll notify you when the problem is solved.

--
Artem Lyakhov

David Snook
VIP Member
Posts: 110
Joined: 6 Feb 2003 0:01

Unread post by David Snook » 28 Apr 2009 18:37

Hello,

I have a similar problem when trying to install the example programs. I've completely removed older versions with the exception of v5.2, rebooted the computer and tried a clean install. I've tried a few times and even downloaded the VP installation package again and always get the same error message;

Error 1334. The file "winepars.cl" cannot be installed because the file cannot be found in the cabinet file "Cabs.w1.cab". This could indicate a network error, an error reading from the CD-ROM or a problem with this package.

Any assistance would be greatly apreciated.

Regards,

David Snook

Gildas Menier
VIP Member
Posts: 78
Joined: 8 Jun 2004 23:01

Unread post by Gildas Menier » 28 Apr 2009 20:18

my 2 cents...

Had the same problem for another setup (not for Visual Prolog - so I think this may not be VP related):

http://www.zolved.com/synapse/view_cont ... ing_to_rea

then a clean reinstall of the microsoft installer made it :

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

and at least the install was ok.

Regards

Gildas

David Snook
VIP Member
Posts: 110
Joined: 6 Feb 2003 0:01

Unread post by David Snook » 28 Apr 2009 21:18

Thanks much Gildas. That did the trick.

I didn't think it was VP related and using the Windows Installer Cleanup utility fixed the problem. I guess there's some residual files occassionally left over by the Windows Installer routine.

Regards,

David

Post Reply