Page 1 of 1

Variables display in the debugger - drops leading string character

Posted: 11 Nov 2019 18:02
by Harrison Pratt
In VIP 8.02 when debugging a console application:

Put the code below into main.pro. Note what happens to the display of string S1 in the Variables window when running the application in the debugger. String is handled OK but displayed is ablated in some circumstances.

Code: Select all

    run() :-         S1 = "A1", % Variables display behaves the same with "01" or "_1"         S2 = "002",         Sc1 = string::concat("Test:", S1),         Sc2 = string::concat("Test:", S2),         _ = stdio::readLine().
The display drops the leading character of a 2 character string, so "A1" becomes "1"

Code: Select all

main::run()   S1 = "1"   S2 = "002"   Sc1 = "Test:A1"   Sc2 = "Test:002"

Re: Variables display in the debugger - drops leading string character

Posted: 12 Nov 2019 11:16
by Thomas Linder Puls
I can reproduce the problem.
But it does not exist in Vip 9.

Re: Variables display in the debugger - drops leading string character

Posted: 12 Nov 2019 12:54
by Harrison Pratt
Good to know.
Has the "Go to usage" hot key (Shift-Ctrl-Alt-F) been fixed in Vip 9 as well?

Re: Variables display in the debugger - drops leading string character

Posted: 12 Nov 2019 14:21
by Thomas Linder Puls
No, unfortunately not.