Discussions related to Visual Prolog
Schlumpf12
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Jan 2022 16:03

Visual Prolog restrictions?

Unread post by Schlumpf12 »

Hi,
Turbo Prolog 2 has the restriction, that facts can be modified during runtime but rules not.
Was this problem solved with Visual Prolog or has it the same restriction due being compiled like Turbo Prolog?

Many regards,
Alex
User avatar
Thomas Linder Puls
VIP Member
Posts: 1285
Joined: 28 Feb 2000 0:01

Re: Visual Prolog restrictions?

Unread post by Thomas Linder Puls »

No, that is still the case in Visual Prolog now.

We do not consider it a problem: Visual Prolog is a programming language more than a logical system inference.

But you can embed PIE which gives you an "old-fashioned" Prolog Inference Engine (PIE) in any program you make. The pieDemo program in the examples illustrates how to embed and use PIE from a program.

You can also use the standalone PIE program (also in the examples), which obviously also embeds the PIE package.
Regards Thomas Linder Puls
PDC
Schlumpf12
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Jan 2022 16:03

Re: Visual Prolog restrictions?

Unread post by Schlumpf12 »

Thank you!
Is the PIE-part compiled or interpreted?
User avatar
Thomas Linder Puls
VIP Member
Posts: 1285
Joined: 28 Feb 2000 0:01

Re: Visual Prolog restrictions?

Unread post by Thomas Linder Puls »

PIE rules are interpreted

But from PIE rules you can make calls into your own program, which will then execute compiled code.
Regards Thomas Linder Puls
PDC
Post Reply