how do I increase the stack limit

Discussions related to Visual Prolog
mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

how do I increase the stack limit

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 10 Nov 2017 16:13

I have reached the stack limit (with 64-bit build version!).
How do I increase the stack in VP8 environment?
this is example run that was passing from 5.2 version.
PrologUser

mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 10 Nov 2017 16:20

Exception 0xC00000FD: Stack Overflow,
at address: 0x1401F03A4 First Chance Continuable
PrologUser

User avatar
Thomas Linder Puls
VIP Member
Posts: 1168
Joined: 28 Feb 2000 0:01

Unread post by Thomas Linder Puls » 10 Nov 2017 22:49

I am certain there is a bug/problem in your program. We have runned numerous of programs in decades on huge datasets and we never need to increase the stack size.

The best way to track down the problem is probably in the debugger.
Regards Thomas Linder Puls
PDC

mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 11 Nov 2017 7:20

Dear Thomas,
I have turned all of the called predicates into determ and it went a bit further but I am really in a position
that I cannot improve it further in this way.
Please give me an example of code to increase the stack.
PrologUser

mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 11 Nov 2017 8:27

The interesting think is that now within the debugger the test passes.
But when I execute the .exe it returns an error.
PrologUser

User avatar
Thomas Linder Puls
VIP Member
Posts: 1168
Joined: 28 Feb 2000 0:01

Unread post by Thomas Linder Puls » 13 Nov 2017 9:54

It is always frustrating when a program works in the debugger but not in the "real" life. This most often happen for multi-threated programs where the debugger changes some timing between the threads.

Anyways, if the problem cannot be reproduced with the debugger then you will have to use non-debugger methods.

First of all: do you get an exception trace/dump?

Have you tried using shift+F2 to see the corresponding positions in your program?
Regards Thomas Linder Puls
PDC

mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 13 Nov 2017 13:28

This is the message that I get when it crashes.

C:\let\ccc\vp8ccc\backend\Exe64>backend
HLS CCC optimization started, please wait...
===== 2017-11-13 15:28:11 =======================


----------------------------------------
Non prolog exception

TraceId = 00007FF9B3165DA4
TraceId_value = 140710428171684
nonPrologException (exception) in exception::getDescriptor_nd

----------------------------------------
OS: Windows 10.0 Build 15063
PrologUser

mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 13 Nov 2017 15:27

I don't get an exception dump, or trace neither shift-F2 doesn't show anything
PrologUser

User avatar
Thomas Linder Puls
VIP Member
Posts: 1168
Joined: 28 Feb 2000 0:01

Unread post by Thomas Linder Puls » 13 Nov 2017 19:07

So the exhaustion of the stack has disappeared.

This exception is a foreign exception, i.e. comes from some non-Visual Prolog code. Try running the 32bit version of the program and see how that behaves.
Regards Thomas Linder Puls
PDC

mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 13 Nov 2017 19:29

The 32-bit version of exe passes the test, no problem!
But how do I make the 64-bit version program to succeed as well?
PrologUser

User avatar
Thomas Linder Puls
VIP Member
Posts: 1168
Joined: 28 Feb 2000 0:01

Unread post by Thomas Linder Puls » 14 Nov 2017 11:10

Well, it is a bit tricky, when it works in the debugger.

I guess you will have to locate the "problem spot" using logging messages in your program.
Regards Thomas Linder Puls
PDC

mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 18 Nov 2017 6:50

I have turned ALL predicates in my program to determ, by introducing the ! (cut) call at the end of each
clause body.

However, all of my large tests hit "stack overflow" problem, and I am left without any options.
Does anybody know any way to increase the stack?

Thank you.
PrologUser

mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 18 Nov 2017 13:08

===== 2017-11-18 15:07:10 =======================


----------------------------------------
System exception

error code = 1
ExtraInfo = Exception C00000FD: Stack overflow
systemException (runtime_exception) in runtime_exception::runtimeExceptionRaiser

----------------------------------------
main.pro(28725)
C:\ccctst\vipKernel.dll (0x14008ADC)
C:\ccctst\vipKernel.dll (0x140064E5)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x77E26212)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x77E261E4)
C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x77E14166)
main.pro(28739)
main.pro(28739)
main.pro(28739)
main.pro(28739)
main.pro(28739)
PrologUser

User avatar
Thomas Linder Puls
VIP Member
Posts: 1168
Joined: 28 Feb 2000 0:01

Unread post by Thomas Linder Puls » 19 Nov 2017 22:21

Notice:
main.pro(28739)
main.pro(28739)
main.pro(28739)
main.pro(28739)
main.pro(28739)
Same line again and again. There is most likely no progress in this part or your code.
Regards Thomas Linder Puls
PDC

mdosnov2016
VIP Member
Posts: 73
Joined: 19 Nov 2016 7:58

Re: how do I increase the stack limit

Unread post by mdosnov2016 » 15 Dec 2017 0:07

I have turned all my recursive predicates into tail recursive using wrappers to call the first recursive iteration.
However, now my program exhausts the stack earlier than before and I get the following message:
C:\let\ccc\vp8ccc\backend\Exe>backend
HLS CCC optimization started, please wait...
Synthesizing module 1: getblk

Synthesizing module 2: decode_mpeg2_non_intra_block

===== 2017-12-15 01:58:31 =======================


----------------------------------------
System exception

error code = 1
ExtraInfo = Exception C00000FD: Stack overflow
systemException (runtime_exception) in runtime_exception::runtimeExceptionRaiser

----------------------------------------
main.pro(28971)
C:\let\ccc\vp8ccc\backend\Exe\vipKernel.dll (0x14008ADC)
C:\let\ccc\vp8ccc\backend\Exe\vipKernel.dll (0x140064E5)
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x773B9D62)
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x773B9D34)
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x773A0BF6)
main.pro(26072)
main.pro(32280)
main.pro(27268)
main.pro(30882)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(22555)
main.pro(29139)
main.pro(30935)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(27242)
main.pro(30882)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(26832)
main.pro(30844)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(27485)
main.pro(30882)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(22555)
main.pro(28187)
main.pro(30912)
main.pro(33476)
main.pro(27074)
main.pro(30864)
main.pro(33476)
main.pro(27409)
main.pro(30882)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(26588)
main.pro(30821)
main.pro(32095)
main.pro(33380)
main.pro(29968)
main.pro(31015)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(26832)
main.pro(30844)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(26832)
main.pro(30844)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(26832)
main.pro(30844)
main.pro(32295)
main.pro(26832)
OS: Windows 10.0 Build 16299 64-bit

C:\let\ccc\vp8ccc\backend\Exe>

How do I deal with this now?
PrologUser

Post Reply