Discussions related to Visual Prolog
User avatar
drspro2
VIP Member
Posts: 97
Joined: 28 Apr 2006 12:03

components use

Unread post by drspro2 »

hello Forum,

can we use or integrate this component in a project?

https://www.essentialobjects.com/Produc ... fault.aspx


and this company provides various controls, can we use these?


www.syncfusion.com


thankyou

R
User avatar
Thomas Linder Puls
VIP Member
Posts: 1398
Joined: 28 Feb 2000 0:01

Unread post by Thomas Linder Puls »

Not directly. It is a .net control for use in the CLR (common language runtime). which is a virtual computer executing special CLR machine code.

To interface to .net stuff you will have to build a .net assembly that expose the control as a COM component and then you can import that COM component in Visual Prolog.

But it would really mean that things has been wrapped.

A piece of Prolog data will first have to be marshalled to COM memory, then your middle assembly will marshal it to .net memory, and then the EQ.WebBrowser "thing" will marshal it to plain memory again, because that is what the chrome frame work needs.

Building the "middle" assembly will require a good deal of effort, but what is worse is that there will be so many different layers where things can go wrong and it will be very difficult to debug in such a heterogeneous environment.

Unfortunately, it seems that it will become more and more difficult to get access to reliable web-browser functionality in a plain windows program.
Regards Thomas Linder Puls
PDC
User avatar
drspro2
VIP Member
Posts: 97
Joined: 28 Apr 2006 12:03

Unread post by drspro2 »

Thomas thankyou for the information
Post Reply